The Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) traces its roots when then president Ferdinand Marcos enacted Presidential Decree 765 in August 1975 which created the Integrated National Police-INP by integrating all city and municipal police and fire departments and jails. These integrated forces were placed under the operational control of the Philippine Constabulary. The enactment of Republic Act No. 6975, otherwise known as the Department of Interior and Local Government Act of 1990 paved the way for the establishment of the Philippine National Police (PNP), Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) and Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP) as separate entities. Specifically, the Fire Bureau’s charter was created under Chapter IV (Section 53 to 59) and carried-out through the provisions of Rule VII (Sections 49 to 58) of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of the said law. In December 2008, Republic Act No. 9514, otherwise known as the Revised Fire Code of the Philippines of 2008, was assigned into law, establishing a comprehensive and updated Fire Code of the country, repealing PD 1185. Recently, the Revised Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA 9514 took effect on October 17, 2019. Primarily, the BFP envisions a modern fire service fully capable of ensuring a fire–safe nation by 2034; and is mandated to prevent and suppress destructive fires; investigate its causes; enforce fire code and other related laws; respond to man-made and natural disasters, and other emergencies.